G20 grants African Union equal membership status to the EU

The G20 coalition of countries has decided to offer permanent membership to the African Union. This decision would elevate the African Union, which comprises 55 member states, to a status on par with that of the European Union, a departure from its existing classification as an invited international organization.

In June, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi penned letters to the leaders of the G20 nations, suggesting that the African Union should be granted full and permanent membership within the bloc during the forthcoming summit in the Indian capital. As it stands, the G20 consists of 19 countries along with the European Union.

This year, the G20 has extended invitations to nine non-member countries, including Bangladesh, Singapore, Spain, and Nigeria, in addition to international organizations such as the United Nations, the World Health Organization, the World Bank, and the IMF for the upcoming weekend summit in New Delhi. The G20 leaders are anticipated to make the official announcement during the summit.

The G20, also known as the Group of 20, is an intergovernmental forum that includes the world’s most significant developed and developing economies. Its member nations collectively account for approximately 85% of global GDP, more than 75% of worldwide trade, and around two-thirds of the global population.

Countries such as Germany, Brazil, and Canada have voiced their endorsement for granting African Union membership within the G20.

Scroll to Top